Error Message: License information for TF1Book is invalid

Error Message

I was almost done with installing the programs that I needed on the new PC. Everything was running smooth when after installing SSuite Accel, the standalone freeware alternative for Microsoft Excel, I got a message that said, “License information for TF1Book is invalid.” Searching on the net, I found that it was caused by the ActiveX control file VFC132.OCX. I tried to look for remedy on the FAQ section on the author’s site and it was a known issue. Here what’s been written on the site;

“The error you received is from an ActiveX component that did not register on installation. (The Spreadsheet Canvas)

Simply uninstall the office suite and reinstall it, this should fix the problem (you may have to try once or twice). Microsoft made some adjustments to their system paths and registration procedures.

If the above solution does not work, try the following:

1. Open the run dialog box on the main start menu of Windows
2. type the following command script into the edit box – “regsvr32 vcf132.ocx”
3. click the OK button

If you are running Windows Vista or Windows 7, follow these steps:

Register the component from an elevated command prompt. Right click on the icon for Command Prompt on the start menu and select Run as Administrator. You will be prompted by UAC to approve the elevation. Once the command prompt window is open, run your “regsvr32  vcf132.ocx”command from that window and it should succeed.

This should register the component. The applications using the spreadsheet canvas should run normaly now.”

Well, it didn’t work for me, though I did not uninstall it but just chose the repair option when reinstalling. Ultimately I restored the system with the first backup image (the one right after installation, activate and update) followed immediately by installing the SSuite Accel program. It worked. I then copied the file VCF132.OCX which was found in the C:\Windows\SysWOW64 directory to another location for safekeeping. Next I installed all the other programs one at a time, executing the program after installation followed by executing SSuite Accel. All went fine until the last program DoubleCAD XT 3. The CAD program worked fine but then running SSuite Accel gave me the message. Looking at the file in SysWOW64 folder, it was bigger, newer and had a higher version number. I overwritten this file with the saved copy. To my joy both programs executed just fine.

Installed by SSuite Accel

Installed by DoubleCAD XT 3

There should be no problem in running SSuite Accel except for DoubleCAD XT 3. It is depending on the newer version of the file VCF132.OCX, there might or might not be a problem. As of now, that I do not know as I am yet to use the program. Hopefully there’s none.

Update:

I don’t know, maybe its the nut that holds the mouse, this program could not open an xls file and I don’t feel like finding the reason why. I seldom use word processor, let alone spreadsheet. What I need is a small program to open the respective files. Installation program file for Microsoft Excel viewer alone is 75MB. No can do. In the end I ended up with LibreOffice portable, just another fork of OpenOffice.

2 Responses to “Error Message: License information for TF1Book is invalid”

  1. Sabrina Says:

    VCF132.ocx needs an additional dll named oc30.dll


Leave a Reply

