DIY Camera Bag From Old Bags

Old bags

Old bags

I have a camera bag that I think is too big for traveling because I’m a backpacker.  I want a bag small enough to fit in my backpack so that I just have to toil just one bag when I’m on the journey to and return from the destination (ok maybe on the return leg there will be two bags, haha).  When I’m boarding a plane or when I’m at the destination, I will just carry the ‘new’ bag.  The bigger backpack will be checked-in luggage or left behind at the hotel when I go out for sight-seeing.  Also I want to allay myself and give the impression than I’m not carrying a bagful of photographic gears.

So begin the project.  Two old bags, one a small camera bag and the other a small haversack plus a sleeve for notebook retained from a discarded backpack are the main materials. First I glue the notebook sleeve onto the inside back of the haversack.  After that the bottom of the sack is padded with material from a camping mat. Next, unnecessary parts of the camera bag are stripped-off and the bag is then glued to the bottom of the sack and to the notebook sleeve.  That’s it, the project is as good as done.

Sleeve for notebook

Sleeve for notebook

Padding the base

Padding the base

Unnecessary parts stripped

Unnecessary parts stripped

After loading and testing, I decide to make a padded lid to cover the old camera bag to act as a separator since the long lens of the Sigma 150-500mm will be placed above it.

Load test

Lid/separator added

padded lid/separator added

All aboard

All aboard

Finally a bag within a bag with room to  spare.

Plenty of room

So for my next adventure, I’m all geared-up for landscape, birds and for this time especially, butterflies photography.

Leave a Reply

