Home Improvement: Renovating The Kitchen

The kitchen for now, the cabinets was done by a professional but the design was my idea. Eventually the back of the gas hob will be covered with stainless steel so too the sides of the cooker hood

I have been busy for the last three months doing some home improvement and lately a Gray-Hoverman antenna, a GH10n3 version for the UHF and VHF band III.

The house is not big.  The living area, the dining area and the kitchen are all in one space on the ground floor.  I decided to erect a wall with an almost square window to separate the living and dining area from the kitchen.  It is practically done now except for some minor finishing touches and adjustments.  I had engaged a home builder to erect the separating wall and the kitchen table but the tiling works were all done by me.  To get some experience in wall erection, the top one-third of the wall was completed by me.  That experience gave me the know-how and confidence to erect a wall on my own in future.  I also had my first hands-on experience in arc welding, I built a small window grille for the kitchen window.

The wall that separate the kitchen from the living and dining area

The wall that separates the kitchen from the living and dining area. The tall cabinet is storage specially for poles, broom and dustpan. That rectangular piece of slab is a collapsible side table

The window grill, my first arc welding job

The window grill, my first arc welding job

Incidentally, during the early part of the project, I had received the Sigma SD15 that I had ordered.  Unable to test it, I put it aside.  Now that the kitchen works were over, I took the opportunity to test it.  The pictures here were all taken with the Sigma SD15 and the kit lens 18-50mm f2.4-4.5 DC OS.

Leave a comment