Test Run The Sigma SD15

Sigma SD15 with 50mm f2.8 EX DG Macro

Sigma SD15 with 50mm f2.8 EX DG Macro Lens

I bought this camera with the intention to use it as a studio camera for portrait photography.  Since I am more of an old school photographer, I feel at ease with the Sigma SD15 though there are some noises in the net about it lacking some features found on other cameras.  What matter to me is the result.  I want to see if I can get to see again the sharpness like I used to when looking at the prints of the brides decades ago working part-time as a freelance wedding photographer.  So far I am still not satisfied with the results from my present gears.  Maybe it’s not the camera but the nut that holds the camera, but then it will still be the same nut that holds the Sigma SD15.

My original intention of matching the SD15 with Sigma 50mm f1.4 EX DG HSM was scrapped in favour of the Sigma 50mm f2.8 EX DG Macro because of the macro capability, cheaper and at f2.8 it is still not bad if the eyes aren’t failing.  The camera bought online because I could not get it locally.  It came with an 18-50mm f2.8-4.5 DC OS HSM kit lens.  This lens will be handy when I need to shoot wide but for now I am more concerned with the 50mm prime lens.  Since portrait shootings are mostly on the tall side, at least in my case, I had also bought the power grip PG-21.

While contemplating who shall be the test subject and waiting for the opportunity to come, I took some still shots of a pineapple.  Then about two weeks ago, I had visitors and it was just perfect.  I must say that I am quite happy with the results straight from the memory card.  Here are the still photograph of a pineapple and the portraiture of one of the visitors after some editing in Gimp and Faststone.

Pineapple still

Pineapple still

My nephew

Portrait of a young lad

Update 16 Sep 2013

Well, I have cleaned the individual lenses in the Takumar 135mm f2.8 and took the liberty to cut the protruding aperture lever on the flange that prevented the lens to mount on the Sigma SD15 and took some shots with it.  Here’s one of them;

Speed 1000 f2.8 IS0 100. Shot RAW exported to TIFF from Sigma Photo Pro 5. Balanced, Colour Saturation value 3, Local Contrast Enhance and Smart Redux Sharpen in GIMP

Leave a Reply

